iCans

Exploring auditing and training over the Internet

Ask Rolf a question

Rolf DaneIntroduction: Rolf Dane is a CofS-trained Class VIII who has been auditing for 25 years. He lives in Copenhagen, Denmark. He has audited people over the Internet from Denmark, Sweden, Germany, Austria, Italy, UK, Scotland, Australia, Israel, South Korea, USA, Canada, Mexico, South Africa, Slovenia and the Nederlands. He has a website here. He posted this comment very recently and I am making a main post out of it because I want to give people a chance to ask him questions without it all being buried down in the comments somewhere.

He is very happy to answer questions about distance auditing and training. Simply add a comment to this post and he will add a comment providing an answer.

Paul


I use remote metering or telepathic metering. I usually don’t completely depend on the meter as I would in normal session set up. When I assess a list, for instance, I will with some pcs require them to answer each question with yes or no. If the meter responds well with that pc I will do it as in normal session.

Assessing an important list, such as Int Buttons, I would ask the pc to comment on each. If the pc comments verbally it is much easier to determine if the item is charged or not. It will show up on the meter or will be obvious from the pc’s statement and tone of voice.

I have also used a system I learned doing TIR*. You simply have pc grade each item for charge and interest on a scale from 0-10, 10 being the most charged. In doing prepchecking I will simply have the pc answer the question till he runs out of answers and then move onto the next button. That works very well too.

Rolf

*TIR: Traumatic Incident Reduction, the mainstream version of R3R.

March 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Good info, Rolf. There is a very useful article on that 1-10 “Subjective Units of Distress” scale at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SUDS which clearly lays out the differences between the points.

    Paul

    Comment by Paul Adams | March 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. Thanks for highlighting my post, Paul. Yes, I am willing to answer questions and participate in this blog.

    Even though I get a variety of comments on doing remote auditing and remote metering I have found that the upside far outweighs the downside.

    The downside is: Reduced session control and reduced accuracy in metering. I usually characterize remote auditing as a Division 6 activity to people thinking in traditional CoS standard tech ways. By Division 6 I mean it is an introductory type of processing rather than strictly standard tech. It is LRH tech I use but often I resort to 1950s and early 1960s ways of handling the session. There are tons of highly workable tech prior to 1968, the year standard tech was first introduced.

    The upside is: With people who are well educated in auditing and have their PC hat on, so to speak, you can easily get the person through his grades and all the way to Dianetics Clear. Obviously there is an upside in terms of convenience and simplicity in logistics. No need to travel; no need even to set aside hours to transportation, etc. I have PCs who get a session before work and keep moving up the grade chart. I have PCs who can set aside one hour during the day and in this way keep going without loss of income or control over their daily activities.

    With the very spread out situation of FZ auditors I see it as an important tool to activate our field.

    One thing worth mentioning is that even though I have local PCs that come for normal sessions, that wouldn’t be enough work to make a living from. With the addition of phone auditing I can pretty much book up the whole week without the need to do odd jobs in addition. In other words: with the addition of phone auditing I can get above the break point and become a full time auditor. That keeps me focused at the job at hand and on honing my skills, etc.

    Best,

    Rolf

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. Since I had my first experience of telepathic metering in 2004 I have been interested in seeing a video of it in operation. There was a recent discussion of making such a video on the ESMB message board and you suggested a relatively simple set-up requiring only one stationary camera.

    Namely, the remote pc uses a meter set-up similar to how Maxim audits, with an auto-reset meter facing the webcam. Just like in the photo at this blog currently in the right column at the top. The auditor has a video camera behind him, focused on both meters — the one next to him and also the one on his computer monitor showing the Skype image of the pc and that remote meter.

    Per Maxim the broadband link has to be good enough to allow 15 frames per second over Skype. Mine is nowhere near good enough for that. What is your frame rate like, Rolf? Instructions for checking the frame rate are on Maxim’s post here, the one before this one of yours.

    Paul

    Comment by Paul Adams | March 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am interested in this project, Paul. I am actually getting two meters soon for such testing. One from Nic Ford of Mindwalker, UK and one from Hank Levin of Clarity Meters, USA.

    I do not have any video equipment, however. I will ask around to see if there is a local video camera operator who wants to participate. Also, we need volunteers who are willing to be audited on camera. It need not be too emotional auditing. Maybe we can even simply do e-meter drills well enough to demonstrate the workability of remote metering.

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 11, 2010 | Reply

    • You can audit me on camera, Rolf. But the only auto-reset meter I have is a C-meter. I can position the webcam so that it views the monitor but you won’t see my face too.

      I have a Clarity meter, but not the auto-reset model. Are you getting an auto-reset one from Hank?

      Paul

      Comment by Paul Adams | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. What I am getting from Hank is an electronic box developed for internet auditing. He says he has resolved the slow response by using different software. It has its dial on-screen like the C-meter. I think that is a different project as both PC and auditor need a black box to make it work. Maybe Hank will participate in that.

    What I get from Nic is a Mind Walker 3A. It has an auto reset function but can be switched to old fashioned TA and it has its own needle and dial.

    Rolf

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. I find that phone- or web auditing is highly workable. I have done it for 8 months now and to very good results. I got the inspiration from Robert D. and adopted his R3X as part of what I use. Agreed, R3X is not a solve-all tech as one over time validate the bank too much. But compare to audit solo nots forever, where you validate BTs too much to a point where some PCs are seen to become paranoid.

    In terms of successes with phone auditing I have had many. All the successes not marked ‘Denmark’ on my testimonial page are after phone auditing:

    http://rolfdane.com/testimonials.htm

    Once you have a well hatted PC, such as most Freezoners are, it actually runs almost as a normal session setup.
    One has to use older tech than standard tech sometimes due to the metering being less reliable. But as it says in the KSW series, there is no “old tech;” it’s all valid and workable. So it’s LRH tech I use, if not always the version dubbed standard tech in 1968.

    As a guide line I use the 1975 version when it comes to any form of dianetics. It’s because I find “Dianetics forbidden on OTs” is far too sweeping a rule. Dianetics audits experience, reality if you will. To forbid OTs to run experience just doesn’t make sense. But one has to keep an eye on odd phenomena such as skipping chains, etc.
    R3X solution to that is to flatten each incident contacted. Doing that, you don’t leave behind BPC.

    Rolf

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. Set-up to document remote metering:

    One can record one’s screen with free software found here:

    http://goview.com/goldwyn/spring/play?method=indexPage

    By setting up a session using computer meters, one can have it all on one’s monitor and ready to record. The PCs meter can be shown on web cam, also if it’s a computer meter. That just requires the webcam isn’t a built in one.
    Auditor’s meter can be displayed on auditors monitor next to the skype video. I have now a Mindwalker 3 that can do that.

    Rolf

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. Check this out. Nic Ford’s demo of MindWalker 3A, now as wmv download for replay.
    It is made with screen recording software.

    http://rolfdane.com/mindwalker.htm

    Best,

    Rolf

    Comment by Rolf Dane | March 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Neat demo, thanks. It is interesting to compare it to Ralph’s C-meter, and Hank’s new internet meter.

      Paul

      Comment by Paul Adams | March 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

